The 10 Best Gatorade Flavors, Ranked and Reviewed (2022)

Most of us have heard of, and perhaps even tried Gatorade at some point or other. This energy drink not only eliminates thirst but also supplies the body with essential electrolytes.

Now, do you know why electrolytes matter?

best gatorade flavor
Credits: Mike Mozart

Electrolytes are trace elements like sodium, calcium, potassium, phosphate, and magnesium that power the automatic processes in our body. We must maintain a balanced electrolyte level to stay healthy.

Unfortunately, our bodies cannot obtain enough quantities of these electrolytes through food alone. Also, we lose electrolytes every time we sweat or lose fluids during illnesses like vomiting and diarrhea. Hence it becomes necessary to continuously replenish our electrolyte levels and avoid the discomforts of an electrolyte imbalance.

So, how do we boost natural electrolyte levels?

Enter Gatorade!

As one of the most popular thirst quenchers, Gatorade helps to replace the critical electrolytes that are lost by the body.

The benefits of consuming this scientific formulation outweigh those of plain water, especially when you are training or involved in high-energy activities.

But how does it work?

To find out, let us look at the background story of this brilliant invention.

Story Behind Gatorade

In the summer of 1965, players at the University of Florida had to battle a harsh summer.

When heat-related illnesses began impacting their performance levels, their assistant coach turned to a team of researchers for help.

These researchers discovered that the cause of this problem was two-fold:

  1. Fluids and electrolytes lost by the players were not being replaced.
  2. Carbs burnt during physical exertion were not being replaced.

To fix both issues, they came up with an effective electrolyte-carbohydrate formula. Thus, Gatorade was born.

Ever since then, Gatorade has been the top-rated choice for athletes worldwide.

You can see Gatorade on supermarket shelves everywhere. They are available in an astonishing range of flavors.

This year, they have 20 different flavors of Gatorade available in the US.

  1. Fierce Blue Cherry
  2. Cool Blue
  3. Fierce Grape
  4. Frost Glacier Cherry
  5. Frost Icy Charge
  6. Frost Glacier Freeze
  7. Frost Arctic Blitz
  8. Tropical Cooler
  9. Lime Cucumber
  10. Fierce Green Apple
  11. Lemon Lime
  12. Citrus Cooler
  13. Frost Tropical Mango
  14. Strawberry Watermelon
  15. Fierce Strawberry
  16. Strawberry
  17. Strawberry Raspberry
  18. Fruit Punch
  19. Fierce Fruit Punch + Berry
  20. Orange

I’ve had the chance to try almost all of them, so I decided to rank them for you.

My ranking of these Gatorade flavors is based on flavor and taste. I’m not a nutritionist or an athlete, so I won’t be discussing the health benefits or nutritional content of each flavor.

In my humble opinion, these are the most delicious ones — if you see one you like, you should give it a try!

My Personal List of the 10 Best Gatorade Flavors:

The flavors are all good, although some are better than others. Below are my rankings.

1. Cool Blue

WHAT WE LIKE ABOUT THIS FLAVOR:

  • Perfect treat for anyone with a sweet tooth
  • Smooth, icy color
  • Pungent and robust flavor and aroma
  • Low sugar content
  • A great thirst quencher for kids

The next time you are looking for a great-tasting thirst quencher then I would definitely recommend Cool Blue Gatorade Thirst Quenchers. Not only do they taste delicious but they are also great after a workout or running.

The color and taste remind me of the blue raspberry popsicles that I used to eat as a child. It is an excellent choice if you want a quick supply of energy. This is also one of the flavors that are palatable when suffering from a stomach bug or indigestion.

These also fit easily inside my lunch box so that I can take them to work with me on hot days. They are wonderful because of the price and because when you buy them in bulk, you can save money and at the same time, have plenty on hand just in case you need it.

Overall Rating: 9.5/10 (Excellent)

2. Fierce Green Apple

WHAT WE LIKE ABOUT THIS FLAVOR:

  • Powerful with strong apple flavor
  • Very sour
  • Jolts awake the senses
  • Has a long-lasting taste
  • It tastes like a green apple lollipop

The “Fierce” on the label indicates what to expect from the Gatorade Green Apple. It is pungent, sour, and strong. If you like tart flavors, this flavor will not disappoint.

The jury is divided over the Gatorade Fierce Green Apple—You either like it or hate it!

There is no denying that this is one of the sourest flavors from Gatorade. So, if sweet isn’t your thing, you should like this flavor.

The strong taste could also be a reason why it quenches thirst effectively. The apple flavor distinctly reminds one of the autumnal tastes and is a great way to cool you from deep within on a hot summer day.

But if you are looking for a Gatorade flavor that is easy on the palette, don’t opt for green apple. It takes quite an effort to get through an entire bottle. Indeed not a choice for the faint-hearted!

Overall Rating: 9.2/10 (Excellent)

3. Lemon Lime

WHAT WE LIKE ABOUT THIS FLAVOR:

  • I like to have it on hand when I am in a hot, dry climate.
  • Not too sour
  • Strong lemon flavor but no artificial after-taste
  • Very refreshing when chilled
  • I enjoy this product when mixed with a little bit of sprite

Light on the palette and almost replicates the original taste of lemonade. Lemon-lime is undoubtedly a comfortable and safe choice!

Lemon-lime from Gatorade is entirely delicious, especially when chilled. It is easy to down and doesn’t leave any unpleasant aftertaste that is commonly associated with lemon-flavored drinks.

As one of the original flavors of Gatorade, lemon-lime is as good as it gets. It is almost a neutral flavor and is universally liked. You will also not find any powdery residue that is commonly seen in other lemon-flavored electrolyte drinks. Hence it is also one of the best-selling flavors in the market.

Perfect for casual drinking, especially if you want a pure, refreshing flavor that you can gulp down quickly, Pack it when you go on a hike, and it will keep you hydrated and refreshed from within.

Overall Rating: 8.7/10 (Very Good)

4. Frost Glacier Cherry

WHAT WE LIKE ABOUT THIS FLAVOR:

  • Size is a nice alternative to a Dr. Pepper when you want a quick drink.
  • They’re not very sweet, but they’ll give you the energy you need during a long workout.
  • Has no added color

I really liked the packaging. It comes in a nice, sturdy bottle that is easy to open and close, but it also has a wide mouth so it is easy to add ice cubes.

However, the flavor is very mild. My kids and I really enjoyed this flavor. There are no artificial colors in it which is nice especially because I have a very picky eater in the house. And I liked how it didn’t leave red stains.

Overall, I would recommend this product to anyone who likes a nice cool drink and not just a sugary carbonated beverage.

Overall Rating: 8.5/10 (Very Good)

5. Lime Cucumber

WHAT WE LIKE ABOUT THIS FLAVOR:

  • I prefer this drink when it is chilled, but loved the coldness of it on a hot day
  • When you uncap the bottle, it smells like fresh cucumber—and has a nice green flavor
  • A great choice for hangover relief
  • Not too sweet like some of the other flavors

The flavor was very refreshing and had a very subtle taste of cucumber and lime, which is almost like drinking spa water.

The flavor itself is tangy and refreshing, which makes it the perfect drink to enjoy on a hot summer day. Though hard to find in stores, Gatorade Lime Cucumber(Limon Pepino) can be bought online or in specialty stores.

Overall, if you are looking for something refreshing to quench your thirst after a workout or just relaxing by the pool, this will be perfect for you! I enjoyed this product and will definitely be buying it again!

Overall Rating: 8.2/10 (Very Good)

6. Frost Glacier Freeze

frost glacier freeze gatorade
7.8
RECOMMENDED

WHAT WE LIKE ABOUT THIS FLAVOR:

  • One of the best freeze flavors
  • Mildly tastes like grape
  • Superb when chilled
  • It’s not too sweet, and goes down easily
  • Chill it for a great taste!
  • Less sugary alternative to regular kool aid

Here’s another refreshingly blue thirst quencher flavor from Gatorade—the Glacier Freeze. Does the name remind you of fresh lusciousness? Well, the drink is just as impressive.

The Glacier Freeze is a prevalent frost flavor from Gatorade. Refrigerate it and treat yourself to ice-cold deliciousness that divinely invigorates the senses.

This flavor will uplift your mood. While the taste isn’t distinctly that of a single fruit, there are unmistakable but subtle grape, strawberry, and citrus undertones. The color is equally attractive.

Boost your workout sessions with the Glacier Freeze, and you will find yourself relaxed, but very much energetic for several hours at a stretch.

Overall Rating: 7.8/10 (Good)

7. Grape

grape gatorade
7.5
RECOMMENDED

WHAT WE LIKE ABOUT THIS FLAVOR:

  • It tastes like grape, but not too sweet
  • Classic flavor and I enjoy the smaller bottles
  • A welcome relief when the weather is hot and dry
  • It may temporarily turn your mouth blue, but this flavor works well

The grape flavor stands out for its distinct taste and color. If you enjoy grape-flavored candy or the fruit itself, this is a beautiful treat.

It tastes just like Grape Kool Aid but with a bit less punch. Still, it’s refreshing and worth the value.

The grape flavor is a great choice to rehydrate and bounce back when struggling from a bad hangover. Nowadays It’s getting harder to find.

Overall Rating: 7.5/10 (Good)

8. Orange

orange gatorade
6.9
RECOMMENDED

WHAT WE LIKE ABOUT THIS FLAVOR:

  • A beloved flavor that has been around for years
  • It goes down smooth and leaves no aftertaste
  • Great for keeping you hydrated
  • Tastes better than the Gatorade Zero

First time I had tried this orange flavor Gatorade and after having it, I was addicted! The taste was soooooo yummy! It’s like drinking orange juice on ice-cold water! It has a very refreshing taste!

When I’m out with friends at the beach or on a hike in the mountains, this is what I bring with me to keep hydrates and energized. It tastes great without leaving a bad aftertaste in my mouth.

It quenches your thirst, gives you energy, and the calories are minimal. The bottle is really sturdy too. It doesn’t break even if you drop it on the floor accidentally.

Overall Rating: 6.9/10 (Above Average)

9. Fruit Punch

fruit punch gatorade
6.5
RECOMMENDED

WHAT WE LIKE ABOUT THIS FLAVOR:

  • Light and refreshing
  • The flavors are really nice, although the colors look really artificial and fake.
  • The taste was a little bit similar to Hawaiian Punch, but more fruity
  • The flavor isn’t too sweet, which is great for any kids or adults who don’t have a sweet tooth
  • Tangy taste

Here is a flavor that is best described as fiery. It goes down very easily and is very refreshing.

Fruit punch is a lovely, summery Gatorade flavor that will hydrate and refresh, even on the warmest days. The fruity taste and punchy smell set it apart from other flavors.

Fruit punch is the right choice when you prefer to stick to just one flavor of Gatorade. Unlike certain other flavors, it doesn’t get boring after a while. Also, the slightly tangy note makes its sweetness tolerable and enjoyable even!

Try mixing the fruit punch flavor with equal quantities of orange. You will be pleasantly surprised by the tasty result.

Overall Rating: 6.5/10 (Above Average)

10. Fierce Blue Cherry

fierce blue cherry gatorade
6.1
RECOMMENDED

WHAT WE LIKE ABOUT THIS FLAVOR:

  • Delicious taste and color!
  • It is an ideal product for summer or hot days
  • The kids liked them very much
  • A great beverage for athletes

I found this flavor to be my least favorite in my list but it is still enjoyable. This flavor is most comparable to a blue bomb pop ice cream. The taste is very similar.

The first thing that struck me about this blue cherry flavor is the color. It’s a very vibrant shade of blue (more like electric blue) and it had me worried that it might taste overwhelmingly artificial. However, that isn’t the case at all. I loved the texture of this drink. It felt like I was drinking a slushie. It goes down smooth and really quenches your thirst.

If they keep this flavor around, I’ll buy it; it’s rare to be able to find it.

Overall Rating: 6.1/10 (Above Average)

While this brings us to the end of our discussion on the top-reigning Gatorade flavors, I am sure you will still have many questions regarding this drink in general. So, here we go.

Is Gatorade Good for You?

Let us first accept the fact that Gatorade is a processed drink with sugar and artificial flavors. It doesn’t contain any real fruit.

Some of the main benefits of consuming Gatorade are as follows:

  • Rehydrates and revitalizes the body after energy-intense activities.
  • Contains electrolytes that will restore electrolyte levels after sweating or during illnesses.
  • Sugar content boosts energy.

When consumed in moderate amounts, Gatorade is as safe as any other sports drink. It is, in fact, better than drinking plain water, since plain water doesn’t contain any electrolytes.

However, it isn’t wise to consume Gatorade in excessive quantities. As with any other sugary sports drink, Gatorade increases your risk for weight gain. It can also adversely affect appetite. Hence, use it in moderation.

Research suggests that Gatorade is best consumed when you exercise for more than an hour or indulge in high-energy workouts. Drink it when needed but switch to water when you need hydration.

How does Gatorade compare with water and other sports drinks?

At the beginning of this post, we saw that Gatorade was invented to hydrate and correct electrolyte imbalances in athletes and players after or during high-energy activities.

The benefit of choosing Gatorade over water is that it provides electrolytes that are not present in plain water. So, Gatorade hydrates while also restoring electrolyte levels.

Now, let us look at how Gatorade compares with other drinks.

Gatorade contains fewer calories and is easier to drink when compared to sodas and fruit juices. It isn’t heavy and hence doesn’t weigh you down. Nonetheless, a single bottle is satisfying after an intense workout and will keep you refreshed till your next meal.

The fact that Gatorade restores electrolytes also makes it a good drink for when you are suffering from stomach bugs, diarrhea, or bouts of vomiting. It is easy on the stomach and provides proper hydration.

Nevertheless, Gatorade contains artificial sweeteners and flavors which must be consumed in moderation.

To wrap it up…

Gatorade is a sports drink that refreshes, replenishes electrolytes lost through sweat, and rehydrates the body. Hence it is an excellent alternative to water and helps to rehydrate after energy-intense activities and during illnesses.

This post looks at seven of the most popular and best Gatorade flavors that are currently available. If you are new to the brand, this will help you get started with the best flavors.

Gatorade also has a variety of flavor packs of 12 or 24 bottles. So, you may also like to explore this option if you prefer to pick a ready-to-go batch. Regardless of whether you decide to go with the flavors from our list or a variety pack, do let us know which one you like most and why!

Add Comment