The 12 Best Pedialyte Flavors & Tastiest Options Ranked

From the time Pedialyte first hit the markets in the 1960’s it has been a trusted rehydration solution for adults and children.

Whether it is to help with a hangover or as a hydration solution for intensive work-outs and illnesses like the flu, heatstroke, or stomach bugs, Pedialyte performs pure magic.

best pedialyte flavor

The brand advertises itself as “pediatrician and pharmacist-recommended.” Here’s the simple logic behind this claim—Pedialyte contains sugar, water, salt, and essential minerals like potassium and magnesium. Water in this scientific formulation helps with rehydration while salts in Pedialyte replenish electrolyte levels in the body.

Thus, Pedialyte is a better solution than just plain water when you are dehydrated, and your electrolyte levels have been thrown out of balance.

Pedialyte has a variety of delicious flavors. Not only can you use it alone, but you can also mix it with other drinks.

With so many different Pedialyte flavors out there, it can be hard to know which ones are the best. Our team of testers evaluated the following flavors from all of their product lines:

  • Classic Coconut Burst
  • Classic Mixed Fruit
  • Classic Strawberry
  • Classic Grape
  • Classic Unflavored
  • AdvancedCare Strawberry Lemonade
  • AdvancedCare Tropical Fruit
  • AdvancedCare Blue Raspberry
  • AdvancedCare Cherry Punch
  • AdvancedCare Plus Orange Breeze
  • AdvancedCare Plus Berry Frost
  • AdvancedCare Plus Kiwi Berry Mist
  • AdvancedCare Plus Chilled Cherry Pomegranate
  • AdvancedCare Plus Iced Grape

We found the following seven flavors the tastiest:

Pedialyte Electrolyte Solution Flavors – Our Top Seven Recommendations

Here are our picks of the best Pedialyte flavors from the extensive list of 14+ different flavor choices.

1. Classic Unflavored

We aren’t kidding when we say that “unflavored” Pedialyte tops our list of Pedialyte “flavors!”

Given that Pedialyte is the hydration solution for when one is ill or hungover, the unflavored version is most comfortable to consume.

unflavored pedialyte
9.5
OUR TOP PICK

WHAT WE LIKE ABOUT THIS FLAVOR:

  • The lack of flavor makes it easy to drink
  • Effectively combats dehydration
  • Helps with hangovers
  • Safe for kids also
  • Taste best when they are cold

Unflavored Pedialyte is a blessing on those occasions when you are moderate to mildly dehydrated. It is suitable for adults also, as it has no overpowering flavor, artificial color, or sweetener. This makes it very easy to stomach.

Even kids readily consume this flavor, which proves how mild the taste is.

For best results, drink it chilled. Some pet owners suggest that it can be given to animals when they are sick, and it helps them get better. Nevertheless, it is always a good idea to check with a vet first before giving it to your four-legged companions.

I highly recommend stocking this flavor with the rest of your emergency supplies. It will turn out to be useful someday, whether you are caring for someone else or need it yourself.

Overall Rating: 9.5/10 (Excellent)

2. Classic Strawberry

I’ve used Pedialyte classic strawberry a couple of times over the years. The most recent time I used it was after a morning of yard work that left me feeling terrible. I drank a bottle and felt much better within an hour.

strawberry pedialyte
9.2
RUNNER-UP

WHAT WE LIKE ABOUT THIS FLAVOR:

  • Help you stay hydrated and feel better
  • Meant to please kids of different ages
  • Sweet and fruit flavor
  • Cost less than other pedialyte products

I love the taste of classic strawberry flavor – it tastes just like real strawberry juice.

The only problem with this bottle is that it is large and can be hard to travel with. But I was very excited to see they now offer a smaller bottle that will be great to travel with.

Overall though, Pedialyte Classic Strawberry works well and tastes even better. It’s a great way to quickly replenish fluids and electrolytes.

Overall Rating: 9.2/10 (Excellent)

3. AdvancedCare Plus Iced Grape

Pedialyte Advanced Care Plus is a product I would highly recommend to anyone who has children, or even themselves.

iced grape
8.7
RECOMMENDED

WHAT WE LIKE ABOUT THIS FLAVOR:

  • Tasted a lot like grape soda
  • A refreshing alternative to gatorade
  • Tasty and keeps you hydrated
  • Work better than water alone and sports drinks!

Pedialyte Advanced Care Plus has 33% more Electrolytes than Pedialyte Classic liters which means when my kids get sick, they will be hydrated faster than before and better yet, help them feel better sooner!

I mix it 50/50 with water to cut down on the sweet taste and then it’s perfect for my son. It works well for me too if I am feeling a little under the weather but not sick enough to take medicine. It is a little pricey but worth it depending on how much you need.

Overall, I would recommend this product, especially if you have a child who gets sick often.

Overall Rating: 8.7/10 (Very Good)

4. AdvancedCare Plus Berry Frost

You either love the Pedialyte Berry Frost or dislike it. There is just no in-between!

berry frost pedialyte
8.2
RECOMMENDED

WHAT WE LIKE ABOUT THIS FLAVOR:

  • Contains a higher dose of electrolytes than regular flavors
  • Great for digestive health with pre-active probiotic ingredients
  • Pleasant tasting drink that is easy to digest
  • Convenient to consume
  • Brilliant blue colored liquid

Fans of the berry frost flavor from Pedialyte will not settle for anything else, but this flavor. However, some are not entirely impressed by this flavor too.

Ultimately, it all boils down to personal taste. The berry mist is lovely when compared to other flavors of Pedialyte. However, you cannot overlook the hint of saltiness, which is part of all electrolyte drinks.

Overall Rating: 8.2/10 (Very Good)

5. AdvancedCare Plus Chilled Cherry Pomegranate

I bought this on sale because I wanted to try the new flavor. I wasn’t crazy about it, but I didn’t hate it. The flavor is really a smooth cherry, but there is a slight hint of pomegranate for those who look for it.

chilled cherry pomegranate pedialyte
7.5
RECOMMENDED

WHAT WE LIKE ABOUT THIS FLAVOR:

  • The taste was refreshing and even more so when served chilled
  • Great to drink in summer
  • Help us avoid cramps while walking
  • The cherry pomegranate flavor is strong

I have always loved pomegranate, and was excited about trying this flavor… but it is not as tart and tangy as I had hoped… it’s perfectly fine and has a good amount of hydration, but for me, it just doesn’t taste like pomegranate at all.

This product is ideal for helping you deal with hangovers.

Overall Rating: 7.5/10 (Good)

6. AdvancedCare Blue Raspberry

I recently tried the new Pedialyte AdvancedCare Blue Raspberry and it’s great! It has a very pleasant berry flavor.

blue raspberry pedialyte
7.2
RECOMMENDED

WHAT WE LIKE ABOUT THIS FLAVOR:

  • A great choice to help replenish vital fluids
  • A lot better than blue Powerade and has considerably less sugar
  • Can replace electrolytes lost through sweat

I found this flavor to be a little too sweet on its own. So, I mixed it with unflavored Pedialyte, which made it easier for me to drink.

I always keep unflavored Pedialyte on hand. It’s great for times when I work out, or when I feel ill, or after a long day in the sun.

Overall Rating: 7.2/10 (Good)

7. Classic Mixed Fruit

The Mixed Fruit is one of their best flavors. I’m not a big fan of their fruit punch, so I expected this to taste awful, but it actually tastes good.

mixed fruit pedialyte
6.5
RECOMMENDED

WHAT WE LIKE ABOUT THIS FLAVOR:

  • Keeps me hydrated all day
  • It’s a little too sweet, but it tastes good
  • Tastes great, so kids will drink it willingly

It’s a bit on the sweet side, but I find it delicious. I would recommend this for children who aren’t fans of the original flavor or for anyone who drinks it for hangovers.

I definitely recommend giving this a try if you are looking for a fruity alternative to your traditional sports drink.

Overall Rating: 6.5/10 (Above Average)

Pedialyte Electrolyte Powder Flavors – Our Top Five Recommendations

Pedialyte Powder Packs are a convenient alternative to bottled Pedialyte. Available in a wide range of flavors including Berry Frost, Starwberry Freeze, Orange Breeze, Grape, Cherry, Starwberry Lemondade, Orange, Fruit Punch etc. These powdered packs make it easy to replace fluids and electrolytes. They’re also cheaper than buying giant liter-sized bottles from the store.

In this review, we’re going to examine the five best powdered flavors in detail.

1. Berry Frost

Pedialyte Berry Frost powdered packets are a good-tasting replenishment drink. It is nice to have as an alternative to water or sports drinks, especially if you are looking for something that is a little sweeter.

berry frost pedialyte electrolyte powder
9.4
OUR TOP PICK

WHAT WE LIKE ABOUT THIS FLAVOR:

  • Product is easy to carry in a lunch box
  • It’s healthier and the berry flavor tastes good
  • Alternative to energy drinks
  • Can be carried anywhere without refrigeration

I am not a big fan of its texture, though. It’s a little weird. The powder mixes really well with water, and there isn’t much to it besides that.

I think it’s the best hangover cure you can get, and when I don’t have access to my own fridge, I’ll buy a small packet of it just so I can drink the stuff on a regular basis. I just drink some before bed and in the morning and I feel like a new person!

Overall Rating: 9.4/10 (Excellent)

2. Strawberry Freeze

As a regular user of Pedialyte, I’ve always preferred the powder packets. They’re easy to go through, and I like that they come in a small packet that doesn’t take up much space in my pack.

strawberry freeze pedialyte electrolyte powder
8.7
RUNNER-UP

WHAT WE LIKE ABOUT THIS FLAVOR:

  • Mixes with water easily and hydrates the body
  • The strawberry flavor of the powder tastes exactly the same as the ready-to-drink product
  • Helps replace important minerals after a workout or when excess alcohol has been consumed
  • Easy to store and travel with

The strawberry freeze flavor is also great because it’s not sickeningly sweet like some of the other flavors. The product has artificial colors, but I didn’t notice any aftertaste.

It tastes great and is a convenient way to drink lots of electrolytes.

I take it with me everywhere now as a preventative measure against muscle cramps.

Overall Rating: 8.7/10 (Very Good)

3. Strawberry Lemonade

One of the better tasting variants of powdered Pedialyte that quickly dissolves into a viscous liquid when mixed with an adequate quantity of water.

strawberry lemonade pedialyte electrolyte powder
7.8
RECOMMENDED

WHAT WE LIKE ABOUT THIS FLAVOR:

  • Strong fruity taste
  • Very aromatic
  • Convenient to store and carry anywhere
  • Dissolves in water without leaving any chalky residue

Stock up on powder sachets of the strawberry lemonade flavor, and you will never run out of Pedialyte when you need it most. Plus, they are great for traveling.

The strawberry lemonade flavor has the slightest hint of saltiness. Despite this factor, it is quite pleasant on the palette. The flavor helps to overcome the metallic taste that often results after a bout of vomiting or during a hangover. It provides a quick sugar boost after strenuous physical activity but isn’t too sweet.

Young kids and adults will find this light and sweet flavor exciting, and it is satisfying due to its thick consistency.

Powder packs are cheaper than ready-to-drink flavors. But they do the job just as well. A sachet hardly takes up any space and can easily be thrown into your emergency medical kit. It can be convenient if you ever end up falling sick in a foreign place.

Overall Rating: 7.8/10 (Good)

4. Grape Flavor

This is a low-calorie rehydration solution that is pleasant and highly refreshing. The familiar taste of the grape enhances the appeal of this flavor for both adults and kids.

grape pedialyte electrolyte powder
7.2
RECOMMENDED

WHAT WE LIKE ABOUT THIS FLAVOR:

  • Low-calorie solution (just 50 calories per serving)
  • Not too sweet
  • Familiar taste of grape is very refreshing

Although the grape is a standard flavor for most sports and energy drink brands, most versions are too intense or sweet. However, Pedialyte’s grape flavor is refreshingly different, as it has just the right amount of sweetness. It is, in fact, one of the most popular flavors.

When mixed with a suitable quantity of liquid, the powder forms a smooth solution with no residue. It also has a mild grape scent that impresses both adults and kids. It tastes best when served cold.

The grape flavor is also available as ready-to-go bottles. However, the powder is better suited for travel and is usually less expensive than the readymade drink.

Grape flavored Pedialyte is an excellent solution for combating dehydration. By replenishing the electrolyte reserves of the body quickly, this flavor ensures optimum hydration.

Overall Rating: 7.2/10 (Good)

5. Orange Flavor

When opting for Pedialyte powder, the orange flavor is second only to the grape. It is undoubtedly a superior rehydration formula that does the job with perfection.

orange flavor pedialyte electrolyte powder
6.5
RECOMMENDED

WHAT WE LIKE ABOUT THIS FLAVOR:

  • Pleasant and light
  • Tangy taste
  • Easy to drink and doesn’t weigh you down
  • The perfect flavor to sip on during energy-intense activities

Whether you are on a cross-country cycling expedition or outdoor trek, the orange-flavored Pedialyte is a must-have in your kit of travel essentials. This powder almost instantly mixes with the suggested quantity of water to form a sweet, citrusy drink.

Just like all other orange drinks, Pedialyte Orange tastes best when chilled. Nevertheless, it is refreshing and tasty, even at room temperature.

Although the grape flavor remains one of the most sought-after Pedialyte flavors, orange is just as useful in quenching thirst. It is especially significant when you are out in the sun, and you need a tasty drink that provides a good dose of electrolytes as well.

This brings us to the end of our list of favorite Pedialyte flavors.

Before we wind up, let us also look at why Pedialyte is a superior choice when it comes to electrolyte drinks and how it compares with other brands.

Overall Rating: 6.5/10 (Above Average)

Why Choose Pedialyte?

Haven’t you been through a situation where rehydration was an acute and indispensable necessity?

Whether it is to fight an intense hangover or revive one’s strength after a stomach bug or heat stroke, Pedialyte is one of the first names to come to mind.

Pedialyte is specially formulated to provide intensive rehydration, and it does its job much better than various other sports drink brands. Every variant of Pedialyte contains the following main ingredients:

  • Water
  • Potassium, magnesium
  • Other trace elements needed by the body
  • Dextrose
  • Zinc

Anytime you are dehydrated, your body not only needs water but also is at risk for an electrolyte imbalance.

So, it becomes essential to rehydrate and replenish the electrolyte reserves of the body. While plain water rehydrates, it doesn’t contain any electrolytes. This is where Pedialyte is the better solution for such problems.

By restoring electrolytes, it speeds up recovery. Pedialyte thus helps to bounce back to health from a hangover after heavy drinking. It also helps the body to tolerate a terrible bout of diarrhea, vomiting, or any other digestive disorder.

Many users also find Pedialyte to be a simple but effective solution for muscle cramps. Muscle cramps are easily rectified by electrolyte therapy. It is suitable for children as well as aged people who have difficulty in drinking copious amounts of fluids but must consume it for medical and health reasons.

The definite benefit of Pedialyte, when compared to other sports and energy drinks, is that it contains higher electrolyte concentrations. Additionally, Pedialyte also has smaller sugar concentrations and hence, lesser calories.

It also helps that Pedialyte has an unflavored version that works well for those who want a rehydration solution that is mild and tastes just like plain water.

To Summarize…

When rehydration is the need of the hour, Pedialyte is an efficient and doctor-recommended solution.

With celebrities like musician Pharrell Williams and Miley Cyrus endorsing this power-packed brand, there is undoubtedly some truth to the brand’s claims of adequate rehydration.

Introduce yourself to Pedialyte with our list of the 7 top flavors of this rehydration solution. And don’t forget to let us know which flavor you think deserves the top spot on our list.

Add Comment